top of page

KPA History



The KPA started in 1994 in Owensboro, Kentucky. Coach Michael Stinnett had a vision that Kentucky needed a summer event, that would develop and challenge the better players in the state and surrounding areas. The KPA started very small the first year, and every year has grown to include teams and players from all over the World. NBA and overseas pros from all over the world have played in the KPA. The KPA is an event that professional scouts take very seriously, because they are aware of the history and the great competition. Several players over the years have received professional contracts based on their play in the KPA. The summer of 2021, will mark the 24th year for the event, and will include a summer league (Dates TBA). The KPA will be held in Las Vegas again this year at the Las Vegas Convention Center during the NBA Summer League.



Former NBA and current pro in Israel Donta Smith lead his Team Stone team to the 2010 Championship.

Former KPA Most Valuable Players

1995           Marcus Bodie (David Lipscomb College)

1996            Willis Cheaney (Kentucky Wesleyan College)

1997            Dirk Surles (George Washington University/Russia)

1998            Dana Williams (Kentucky Wesleyan College)

1999            Corey Crowder (Kentucky Wesleyan College/Utah Jazz)

2000           Marc Salyers (Samford University/France)

2001          Heson Groves (Winthrop University/Argentina/Portugal        

2002           BJ Flynn (University of Louisville)

2003           Jeff Gibbs (Otterbein/Germany/Japan)

2004           Tyron Lee (Missouri, ABA)

2005           Sanjey Adell (Ohio University/France)

2006          Lamar Owen (Southern Illinois/Iceland)

2007          Andre Owens (Houston/Indiana Pacers NBA/Russia)

2008          Jermaine Dearman(Southern Illinois/France)

2009          Jabarri Smith (LSU/NBA/Overseas)

2010          Donta Smith (Southeastern Ill. J.C./Venezuela)

2011          Brandon Morris (Wisconsin Green Bay/Egypt)

2012 & 13  Two Year Lay Off

2014          Antonio Ballard (Miami Ohio/Switzerland)

2015          Nate Johnson (Louisville/Asia)

2016          D'Angelo Russell (Ohio State/Los Angeles Lakers)

2017          Ken-Jah Bosley (Kentucky Wesleyan/Palestine)

2018          Johnathan Loyd (Oregon/Germany)

2019          Tysean Powell (Cumberland/Duquesne)

2020          COVID - Event was not held

Former KPA Team Champions


1995          SSPB Sunday School (Nashville, Tn.)

1996          Boiler Room Bar (Owensboro, KY)

1997          Auto Roma Bad Boyz (Evansville, In)

1998          Owensboro Bulls (Owensboro, Ky)

1999          Independence Bank (Owensboro, KY)

2000         2nd Chance Auto Sales (Owensboro, KY)

2001          Ten Deep (Knoxville, TN)

2002          Brescia University (Owensboro, Ky)

2003          Ten Deep (Knoxville, TN)

2004          Fraternal Order of Eagles (Pro-Am Select)

2005          New Beginnings (Columbus, OH)

2006          Louisville Lightning (Louisville, KY)

2007          Kenny Kings (Indianapolis, Ind.)

2008          Kenny Kings (Indianapolis, Ind.)

2009          Team Atlanta (Atlanta, Ga.)

2010           Team Stone (Louisville, Ky.)

2011            JB Auto (Kenosha, Wisc.)

2012 & 2013 Two Year Lay Off

2014            Team Southern Indiana (New Albany, Indiana)

2015            Overseas Pros  (Louisville, Kentucky)

2016            KPA Select #1 (Louisville, Kentucky)

2017            Free Agency Celtics (Spain) *held in Las Vegas

2018            Coach Mo KPA Pros (Nevada, Las Vegas) *held in Vegas

2019            KPA Asia (Coach Sam Casey) *held in Las Vegas

2020            COVID-Event was not held


Former NBA and current pro in Austria Andre Owens was named MVP in 2007 and lead his team Kenny Kings to back to back KPA crowns. Owens was a standout in the Big 3 this past summer.

The Louisville Lightning were the 2006 KPA Champs. The Lightning were lead by former Louisville and overseas veteran Nate Johnson. Also on the team was former Murray State and current Northern Kentucky Assistant Coach Chris Shumate. Lamar Owen (Southern Illinois) was named MVP.

D'Angelo Russell led KPA Select to the 2016 KPA Championship. 
Current Brooklyn Net
D'Angelo Russell was 
named the 2016 KPA
MVP. Russell put on a
show at the KPA.
bottom of page